sunskyrap.blogg.se

Best text editor for mac for new developers
Best text editor for mac for new developers













best text editor for mac for new developers

I'm so used to not having it in Sublime that being able to shift things around is a real treat!įinally, the git integration is great. It's a feature Atom supports nicely.Īnother nice feature of Atom that I've found lacking in Sublime is the drag/drop file/folder support in the tree view. I'm someone who often works on a couple of files simultaneously so the ability to set up split pane editing is a must. I also needed to set up some autocompletion using Autocomplete +.

best text editor for mac for new developers

Biggest pain point? Figuring out which additional packages need to be installed when starting from scratch.įor example, I like minimap to help me visually skip to parts of a file. In general, everything in Atom is rather smooth. The package manager is installed by default and to make things even better, all packages are hosted on Github.Īt the time of writing, they had a whopping 6,452 packages and themes available! Packages are so fundamental to Atom, that core features like Tree View and Settings View are simply pre-installed packages. Let's start by reviewing its main features: PackagesĪbility to add additional features to an edit is very important, and this is an area that Atom shines at. AtomĪ hackable text editor for the 21st CenturyĪtom is a relative newcomer to the world of text editors but it's gained huge momentum since it was first released in 2014. That said, I've tried to be as objective as possible. I'm someone who writes for the web (JS, CSS, HTML, etc.) using Sublime for Mac, so my perspective is a bit skewed towards what I'm used to. **Īfter reading the list of pros and cons, I hope you will have enough information to make a choice that best fits your needs.ĭisclaimer: As with any comparison, some of these views are subjective and are mostly based on my personal preferences. While a straightforward answer to the "what is the best text editor for developers?" question doesn't exist, in this post, I will share with you a side by side comparison between four of most popular ones out there: **Atom, Sublime, Visual Studio Code, and Vim. With so many programming text editors out there today, the seemingly simple task of choosing one suddenly becomes daunting and overwhelming.















Best text editor for mac for new developers